Saturday morning I wanted to take S to meet Curious George at a local bookstore. Only it seems that I cannot read a calendar correctly, or that I have no idea what the date actually is. Curious George will be at the bookstore NEXT weekend. At least now we know where the bookstore is. They have meet-and-greets with characters once a month it seems, so it might be a nice activity for me and S to do over the winter while B goes skiing.

Happily, we had another activity to enjoy on Saturday. We had fun catching up with our friends who were in from out of town over a lunch at Duff’s. I had never been to Duff’s before (shocker, I know. I’m from the Buffalo area and I don’t eat chicken wings). I had a nice turkey wrap, S had a hot dog, and everyone else enjoyed their wings. S tried a wing too.

In the later afternoon I started a new painting (yay!) for S’s room, and B bottled his latest home-brewed beer.

Sunday I went to the grocery store (alone!) and got all of our shopping done. Later we went to Ollie’s and the mall. At Ollie’s I bought the other two Curious George origin stories that we didn’t have. I needed to satisfy my own curiosity on how it all started. And at the mall we bought a Halloween costume for S. We tried it on after his bath last night, and he actually cooperated in putting it on and wearing it. And the look on his face when he saw himself in the mirror? Pure joy! He was so excited about it and he ran up and down the hall excitedly. I think he would have worn it to bed if we would have let him. I asked him to say “Trick-or-treat!” and he was adorable about it. I think we can have some fun practicing ringing our doorbell and saying “Trick-or treat!” over the next few weeks. And no, I am not going to tell you what the costume is. B wants to keep it a surprise, so I will. To tide you over, here is a picture of S wearing a Syracuse University football helmet at Ollie’s.

helmet

