This past weekend we took S for his very first haircut! I was very anxious about it, as I really loved his long curls, but they were getting a bit our of hand and snarly, so it was time. Than, and a lot of old ladies kept thinking he was a girl, and I was getting tired of it.

Pre haircut curls

Pre haircut curls

We were prepared with my iPad as a distraction for S. We took him to the same hair stylist that both B and I got to and have gone to for years (she did my hair for my wedding six years ago, and I had been seeing her since before then too!) I felt a lot better about taking him to her than taking S to say, Supercuts. No offense Supercuts.

Anyway, S didn’t even notice or care that his hair was being cut. All he cared about was playing his Elmo app, so it was great. He only really needed his hair cut in the back and on the sides, so that probably helped a lot as well. He did not like the hairdryer at the end, trying to blow some hair off of his back, but that’s to be expected I think.

IMG_4643

Just let me play Elmo!

So, here’s his hair, freshly cut. It took me a day or two to get used to it, but I was happy with it from the start. I do miss his bouncy curls when he runs up and down the hallway, but he’s still my little boy, and that’s all that matters!

Ta da!

Ta da!

The rest of the weekend was spent setting up a workspace for me to use for my new job, and playing outside with S. Oh, and running errands, but that’s boring! We spent a lot of time on the patio playing with the water table and S’s golf set, and we also checked out a new-to-us playground near our house. S loved it.

How was your weekend?

