So, this is a bit late, but better late than never, right?

We had a super sized weekend because B took off of work on Friday and Monday. On Friday morning I went to a bridal brunch for one of my good friends. A few of our friends were there, along with her mom, grandmother and a family friend. We enjoyed everyone’s company and some delicious food and it was a great time. From there I had to go get my hair cut and ready for another friend’s wedding. I hadn’t had a haircut since October so it was seriously time. Before heading home I was able to drop off a bunch of S’s stuff at my parents’ house since he would be staying with them Saturday night while we were at the wedding.

Later in the evening B, S and I headed to the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was a beautiful day and B and S enjoyed a walk along the lake while we rehearsed the ceremony. All of the wedding guests were invited to the rehearsal dinner, so we got to see a bunch of friends. S was taking it all in and he did remarkably well for being in a large group of people.

From S & B's walk along the lake

From S & B’s walk along the lake

Saturday morning we dropped S off at my parents’ house. He was so excited to be there and play with all of the toys they have. He was running though their house while B dealt with moving the carseat into my parents’ car and setting up a few other things while I tried to convince S that he needed to nurse one more time before we left. We were running a bit later than I had hoped so we didn’t linger too long, and I hardly got upset at all in the car as we were driving away. I had so much fun at this wedding that it wasn’t too terribly hard for my first ever overnight away from my kid. S, on the other hand, was so excited that he did not sleep as much as he usually does. But everyone was happy on Sunday when we picked him back up, so we will count it as a win!

This wedding though, let me tell you: It was amazing! Every little detail was perfect and everything went smoothly. It was a gorgeous day, a beautiful ceremony, a delicious dinner and a fun time on the dance floor. As a bridesmaid I was tasked with dancing the entire time to encourage people to keep dancing. I was nervous because we usually only dance to the slow songs at weddings, but B and I were up there dancing pretty much all night. I mean, sometimes you need to go to the bar to get another drink, or use the restroom, or call your kid to say goodnight. But otherwise we were dancing! And it was fun!

Ceremony

Ceremony – beautiful day, beautiful location

One of my favorite parts was the bus they rented to take anyone who wanted it from the wedding to the hotel or to an after party at a bar. It was so much fun, and great that no one had to worry about driving after a night of partying. The bus even took us from the bar back to the hotel at the end of the night. It was great. And the bar was in a really cool location right along the Erie Canal. We sat on the concrete barrier with our legs dangling over the canal and kept the party going.

At the hotel B went to bed and I went to hang out with my friends some more. Four of them were splitting one hotel room, so I wanted to go check that out. We stayed up late reminiscing over old pictures and it was a lot of fun.

Sunday morning B and I were up super early, so we decided to go check out a waterfall that was made from canal overflow (or something like that) that B really wanted to see. Then we checked out of the hotel and made our way to the wedding brunch to see everyone one last time before heading home. We really missed S, especially when we went to the waterfall, so we were anxious to go get him.

Waterfall

Waterfall

When we got there, he gave us a look that said: “Oh, you’re back? But I was having fun!” Typical. We packed up all of his stuff, helped clean up his toys and then we were on our way home. Having not napped at all all weekend, and not sleeping long enough at night, S took a three hour nap when we got home. Poor kid was tired! But at least he had a lot of fun!

Monday we went to the mall to get B’s drivers license renewed at the DMV. It took him less than ten minutes, and I was shocked! S and I hardly had a chance to look at all of the animals in the pet store before B was calling me saying he was done and where could we meet him! Ha ha! We got a few things we needed and then hit the grocery store. We were all still pretty tired, so we took it easy for the rest of the day. I’d say we deserved it!

