This weekend we became members of the zoo! Now we can go whenever we want for free. At least until next summer, when we will have to sign up again, but I can’t imagine us not rejoining. S loves the zoo, so it was a no-brainer for us.

B was jealous that S and I had gotten to see the polar bear cubs a few weeks ago when we went to the zoo with my mom, so we have been meaning to go again ever since. This Saturday was the perfect opportunity, and the weather was great for it. Yes, it rained, but it didn’t rain until we were in the car on our way home. We also discovered that if you go to the zoo in the morning, the animals are more awake and therefore more interesting. For example, I had never seen the rhinoceros this close up.

Rhino

Rhino

S really likes the giraffes, and either the zoo cleared out a new space to see them from, or else we never noticed, but we were able to get a little closer and get this nice shot of a giraffe looking at us.

Giraffe

Giraffe

I think S would be happy just looking at the giraffes to be honest with you, but he does enjoy the whole zoo.

The polar bear cub exhibit was super crowded, and I did not get any good pictures this time. They were playing separately, one in the dirt and one in the pool, and when the dirty one tried to get into the pool, the other was having none of that! It was quite the show. They are right across from the zebras, and we felt bad that the zebras were being ignored. We made sure to give them a good look before moving along.

Zebra

Zebra

When we got back in the car, we asked S if he had had fun at the zoo, and his huge smile was all the answer we needed.

Sunday we went to the Farmers’ Market and to Target. I finally bought something to help organize our office closet, so this week I hope to actually, you know, organize it. That would be great. We also went to dinner at my parents’ house and S played with his little golf set there. He had a blast, and we got some good pictures of him playing. They are on my dad’s camera though, so I don’t have them. Yet.

What did you do this weekend?

