Yesterday we went to Hidden Valley Animal Adventure with my parents and brother. It is a neat place where you get on a trolley pulled by a tractor and all of the animals come up for you to feed them as you drive through the park. They have over 30 species, and I was most excited about the ostriches! They just look so funny to me, so I love when I get a chance to see a real, live ostrich!

A lot of the animals had just given birth recently, especially the bison. Their oldest bison calf was five weeks old, and they had plenty that were even younger!

Bison mamma and calf

Bison mama and calf

None of the mama bison or baby bison were interested in our food offerings. I guess they were too busy protecting their young, or too young to know about the delicious food people pay to feed them!

S and Me!

S and Me!

S was having a blast checking out all of the animals! It was hard to take a photo of him where he was looking at the camera because he was too interested in everything else, and who could blame him!

B feeding an elk (I think)

B feeding an elk (I think)

They had a lot of elk at Hidden Valley. There were also a bunch of baby elk, yaks, and bison in this area.

An elk (I think) sneaking up on my brother

An elk (I think) sneaking up on my brother

There were also some zebra. I could not believe the size of their teeth! Holy cow! My dad and I both had food held out for a zebra, but when I saw the size of its teeth, I opted to just let my dad do it! Ha ha! I wanted to save some food for the ostrich after all.

Longhorn

Longhorn

We were told to be very careful when we stopped to feed the longhorns, as their horns could easily poke at someone if the longhorn turned its head.

S was totally into it all, taking everything in!

S was totally into it all, taking everything in!

We drove by some emus and llamas and alpacas. Not sure why we didn’t get to stop to feed them, but oh well. Finally, we got to the ostrich, and we didn’t stop to feed them either! Bummer!!

Ostrich!

Ostrich!

Afterward, we checked out the petting zoo, opting to carry S through most of it. He did pet a miniature goat of some sort, but then I huge goat came over and he was VERY interested in S so I picked him back up! S really liked the bunnies though, and they had some inside the petting zoo, and then they had even more outside of the petting zoo. We were able to let him really take his time looking at the ones outside, as nothing was going to come up and nibble at him out there!

S LOVED the petting zoo rabbits

S LOVED the petting zoo rabbits

Lastly we enjoyed a nice lunch at their restaurant. I had a nice bison burger, and B enjoyed an elk melt.

All in all, it was a great time, and such a neat place to take a kid to!

