Last Thursday I received an email from our contractor to let me know they would be here Tuesday (today) to begin our job! Huzzah! At last! Visions of family barbecues danced in my head!

Then we went to visit B’s parents for Memorial Day weekend, and when we arrived home yesterday, half of our deck was gone! What? Ha ha! Our contractor had decided to get an early start, and we arrived home in the middle of his work. He had taken the whole top of the deck out and gone to dump the wood someplace. Shortly after we arrived home he returned to finish tearing it out. On Memorial Day! Goodness! He said he would be back today with his whole crew to do the rest of the job and they would be able to finish it in one day. But it is pouring rain today, so I doubt they will be able to pour new concrete. They did arrive at 7:30 AM and they have been ripping out the old concrete ever since. Such a job, and I do not envy them, especially since they are working in the rain.

I took a few photos, and I will post more once it is done for sure!

Our old deck. Missing slats, uneven surface, exposed nails...a huge toddler hazard!

Our old deck. Missing slats, uneven surface, exposed nails…a huge toddler hazard!

All the stuff found hiding under the deck...old toys and chair cushions, dirt, a dead rabbit, old wood, broken glass, YUCK!

All the stuff found hiding under the deck…old toys and chair cushions, dirt, a dead rabbit, old wood, broken glass, YUCK!

After seeing all the junk under the deck, B was very thrilled with our decision to hire someone to remove the deck for us, rather than tear it down himself. I am (finally) inclined to agree with him!

I have been listening to sounds of sledgehammering, jack hammering and construction talk all morning, and I am super excited to finally see some progress on this! And I am thrilled that S is taking a nap despite all of the noise! Whoo-hoo!

EDIT:

The guys left, citing poor weather and threatening rain, so they will pour our concrete on the next nice day. Hopefully soon!!

Progress: Gravel down!

Progress: Gravel down!

